Library Check Out – February 2019

Welcome to February’s Library Check Out! Thanks to Bookish Beck for creating and hosting this monthly link up. February was another great library month for me — there’s nothing better than using the public library!

Library Books Read

Currently Reading

  • Beyond the Wild River by Sarah Maine – this is billed for fans of Kate Morton and THAT’S ME! I’m about 50 pages into it and it doesn’t quite feel like a Morton yet, but I’m pretty taken by it.

Waiting to be Read

Holds

Returned Unfinished

  • Dear Mrs. Bird by AJ Pearce: I love WWII novels but this one just didn’t grab me. I read about half of it and realized that I was never excited to return to it, so I let it go.
  • Milkman by Anna Burns: I knew within 12 pages that this novel wasn’t for me because of the style.
  • The Borrower by Rebecca Makkai: I should have loved this one! But, being the harsh person I am, I didn’t. So I returned it.
  • Heartland by Sarah Smarsh: I didn’t read very much of this one, but knew that it wasn’t right for me right now. I’d like to come back to it one day.
  • When Will There Be Good News by Kate Atkinson – this is the third Jackson Brodie mystery. I just found out that the FIFTH will be published soon, so I wanted to catch up! But once I started it, I realized that I had tried to read it before but stopped because it felt so violent. I got about 45% through it this time and decided that this series probably isn’t for me anymore.

Returned Unread


I’m going to try really hard to wait a couple of weeks before picking up the next Louise Penny in the series, but I make absolutely no promises. PEOPLE – I love this series more and more with each book! I’m also looking forward to picking up Home by Marilynne Robinson and completing the Gilead trilogy this month. That will leave me with tackling Housekeeping in April and finishing all of Robinson’s fiction!

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Library Check Out – February 2019

Add yours

  1. Loved this but was sorry to read your take on The Milkman — have been looking forward to that one for a while. Some of the reviews kinda gave the same warning. I’ll see — and meanwhile, very fun read here. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Try it and let me know what you think! It’s definitely not for me, but you might enjoy it. It seems like one of those books that people either love or hate.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: