The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches by Alan Bradley

The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches is the sixth Flavia de Luce novel. Other than the Baby-Sitters Club and the Sweet Valley Twins, I don’t think I’ve ever read so many books in a single series.  I keep waiting for Flavia to get annoying or for the story to fall through, but either I’m not paying enough attention to the audiobooks or it’s NOT!

I alluded to a cliffhanger at the end of the last Flavia story — that ending quickly gets explained and is the plot of this novel. I don’t want to spoil the surprise for anyone, but this event brings friends and family members to Buckshaw that Flavia has never met, including a cousin who has clearly met Flavia’s match.

Flavia’s wit and clever spirit are on full display in this installment.  There’s also an emotional depth that I haven’t noticed in the earlier novels – could Flavia actually be growing up??!!

I am so excited to start the seventh book in this series, which I’ve already checked out from the library and dowloaded onto my phone for my commute into work this morning. Flavia is now on a great and grand adventure and I can’t wait to join her!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: